BBMP begins special drive to enrol new voters


The Election Commission of India through the BBMP has announced a special voter registration campaign targeting first time voters who have turned 18-years-of-age.

Residents of Hebbal, Byatarayanapura, Yelahanka, Sarvagna Nagar Assembly constituencies and those in and around north Bangalore are eligible to enrol themselves between July 1-31, 2017.

The special drive has been targeted at first time voters – those who have crossed 18 years of age – as on June 30 as they will be eligible to exercise their franchise in forthcoming elections, be it any by-election or scheduled election for Corporation, Assembly and Parliament.

Apart from first time voters, those who want to make additions, deletions and corrections to existing Voter ID cards are also encouraged to do the same.

Forms are available free of cost at BBMP offices. Eligible voters require photographs, identity proof such as Aadhaar, Passport, PAN card, education certificates and other relevant documents to enrol.

Forms and additional information can be had from help centres in respective BBMP ward offices across north Bangalore which also comprises Bengaluru Central and Bengaluru North Lok Sabha constituencies. Assembly elections in Karnataka are scheduled for early 2018 and Lok Sabha polls in 2019.

For online registration visit or call 1950 for further details.

Remember voting is your fundamental right and do not pay anyone to get registered as a voter or for making any changes to your existing Voter ID cards. Registering as a voter more than once is a criminal offence.


Comments are closed.